Vote for the Wall of Fame

The Sporting Wall of Fame, situated in the headquarters of Infostrada Sports in the Netherlands and on the web: walloffame.infostradasports.com, aims to select 500 of the best sportsmen and sportswomen across a vast array of sports. The members of the Wall of Fame are a continuing subject of debate and therefore we have introduced an annual ballot to decide which sportsman and sportswoman will be added to the Wall of Fame.

The 2010 Infostrada Sports Wall Of Fame elections are over. This year the nominees were cricketer Kapil Dev (IND), American football wide receiver Jerry Rice (USA), boxer Marvin Hagler (USA), rugby player JPR Williams (WAL), football player Paul Breitner (GER), golfer Severiano Ballesteros (ESP) and cyclist Beryl Burton (GBR).

With a large majority of 34 percent of the votes, Ballesteros was chosen to be added to the Infostrada Sport's Wall of Fame. Ballesteros won five majors and was the youngest winner of the US Masters (at 23) before Tiger Woods broke that record in 1997. Ballesteros was also the youngest winner of the British Open in the 20th century. In matchplay he won the World Matchplay Championship a record equalling five times, and his partnership with Jose Maria Olazabal in the Ryder Cup was the most successful in the competition's history.